As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 8 best budget electric bikes on Amazon in 2026
Updated
Short version: for a first e-bike, get the Jasion EB5. It is simple and capped at 20 MPH, so it is legal in the most places. If you ride farther or on rough roads, get the Jasion RetroVolt for its much bigger battery.
Quick comparison
| Bike | Battery | Listed top speed | Our realistic range | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jasion EB5 | 360Wh | 20 MPH | 9 to 18 mi | First bike, short trips |
| Jasion RetroVolt | 720Wh | 28+ MPH | 19 to 36 mi | Comfort, range |
| TST Fat Tire | 720Wh (15Ah) | 28 MPH | 19 to 36 mi | Road commuting |
| TST Retro | 720Wh | 28 MPH | 19 to 36 mi | Style, mixed surfaces |
| Jasion EB5 Ultra | 1,040Wh | 28+ MPH | 27 to 52 mi | Long rides, hills |
| Heybike Cityscape 2.0 | 468Wh | Not stated | 12 to 23 mi | Step-through, errands |
| ANCHEER Sunshine | 374Wh | 19.8 MPH | 10 to 19 mi | 20 MPH bike with UL 2849 named |
| ANCHEER 14 inch Folding | 374Wh | 20 MPH | 10 to 19 mi | Small spaces, short riders |
- Jasion EB5 (360Wh)9 to 18 mi
- Jasion RetroVolt (720Wh)19 to 36 mi
- TST Fat Tire (720Wh)19 to 36 mi
- TST Retro (720Wh)19 to 36 mi
- Jasion EB5 Ultra (1,040Wh)27 to 52 mi
- Heybike Cityscape 2.0 (468Wh)12 to 23 mi
- ANCHEER Sunshine (374Wh)10 to 19 mi
- ANCHEER 14 inch Folding (374Wh)10 to 19 mi
Realistic range is our estimate: 90% of the battery at 18 to 35Wh per mile. Riding a fat tire bike flat out at 28 MPH can use 40Wh per mile or more, which lands below these ranges. Four of the eight picks list speeds above 20 MPH, and one does not state a top speed, so read the legal notes before choosing one. See the range calculator.
The picks
The first five come from two budget brands, Jasion and TST. The last three come from Heybike and ANCHEER, two longer-running names, and each of those listings states a rider height range and a load limit. We looked for Lectric, Aventon and Rad bikes too and did not find them sold on Amazon on September 18, 2026. Schwinn e-bikes were there but had too little owner feedback to learn from.
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 18, 2026.
Jasion EB5 (26 inch)
The easy first pick for short trips. It has a normal mountain-bike frame, a 20 MPH cap and a small 360Wh battery. It has a throttle, so it is a Class 2 e-bike. The least surprising bike on this list. Skip it if you need long range.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 1000W peak motor, 20 MPH top speed (listing)
- 360Wh removable battery
- Maker claims 25 to 40 miles per charge
- 26 inch wheels, mechanical disc brakes, 4 riding modes including pedal assist
- About 50 lb
- Battery certification: not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026. Ask the seller if your city requires UL 2849
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it a great starter bike: smooth ride and easy assembly.
- They complain about: Durability is mixed. Some report parts loosening and a battery that faded early. Check every bolt after the first few rides.
Good
- Large owner base, so answers and fixes are easy to find
- Class 2 (20 MPH with throttle) is allowed in most bike lanes. Some trails allow Class 1 only
- Normal bike shape fits most bike racks
Watch out for
- Small battery. Expect about 9 to 18 real-world miles
- Mechanical disc brakes and entry-level parts. Budget for a tune-up
Jasion RetroVolt (Fat Tire)
Pick this if your rides are longer or your roads are rough. It is a moto-style fat tire bike with a long bench seat and a battery twice the size of the EB5.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 48V 15Ah removable battery (720Wh)
- 2000W peak, 99Nm torque (listing)
- 20 x 4.0 inch fat tires, dual suspension
- Rear seat pad. Check the payload limit and your local law before carrying a passenger
- 75 lb. Listing cites speeds of 28 MPH and above
- Battery certification: the listing states UL certified
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners report easy assembly and a smooth ride. One covers 20 miles without knee strain.
- They complain about: It is a new model with a small number of reviews. Owners note that range is best on flat ground.
Good
- Twice the battery of the EB5
- Fat tires and dual suspension for rough pavement
- The listing clearly states UL certification
Watch out for
- The 70-mile claim is a best case. Plan on 19 to 36
- 75 lb. Hard to carry upstairs or lift onto a rack
- Faster than 20 MPH on throttle, so it may not count as a legal e-bike where you live
TST Fat Tire E-Bike (48V)
For road commuters who want speed and have checked their local law first. It has a 750W nominal motor with a listed 28 MPH top speed. Class 3 allows 28 MPH on pedal assist only. If the throttle works above 20 MPH, the bike fits no e-bike class in most states and may be treated as a moped.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 750W motor (2000W peak)
- 48V 15Ah removable battery, larger 25Ah option
- Listed 28 MPH top speed
- Maker states a 6 to 7 hour charge
- About 66 lb, mechanical disc brakes, maker claims a 450 lb load
- Battery certification: UL 2849 is mentioned on the product page. Confirm with the seller that it covers the exact model you order
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners report easy assembly, a sturdy frame and real-world speeds around 24 MPH.
- They complain about: Battery life is mixed. Some report about 18 miles per charge, well under the claim.
Good
- Option for a much bigger battery
- Fast for commuting on roads
Watch out for
- 28 MPH bikes are often barred from bike paths and trails
- Expect 19 to 36 miles, less at full speed
- Long charge time
TST Retro E-Bike (20 x 4 Fat Tire)
Buy this one for the cafe-racer look. It has fat tires and dual suspension, with hardware similar to the TST above in a smaller, retro frame.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 2000W peak motor, listed 28 MPH
- 48V 15Ah removable battery
- Maker claims up to 65 miles
- 20 x 4 inch fat tires, front and rear suspension
- 750W brushless motor per the listing
- Battery certification: UL 2849 is mentioned on the product page. Confirm with the seller that it covers the exact model you order
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the sturdy build and smooth ride, and report about a 6 hour charge.
- They complain about: Some cannot reach the advertised top speed, and owners call the assembly instructions unclear.
Good
- Fat tires suit gravel and sand
- Dual suspension
Watch out for
- Same 28 MPH legal caveat as the TST above
- Moto-style frames are not built for hard pedaling
Jasion EB5 Ultra
For longer commutes, heavier loads and hills. This is the big-battery step up, with over 1 kWh of battery and dual suspension.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 2500W peak motor (listing)
- 52V 20Ah removable battery (1,040Wh)
- Maker claims up to 70 miles
- Dual suspension. Listing cites speeds of 28 MPH and above
- Battery certification: UL 2849 is mentioned on the product page. Confirm with the seller that it covers the exact model you order
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it exceeds expectations and is easy to assemble.
- They complain about: Some report a taillight or brake light that stopped working. Few long-term reports yet.
Good
- Largest battery on this list, so the most real range
- Power for steep hills
Watch out for
- Newer model with fewer owner ratings so far
- This much power may exceed the legal e-bike limit where you live. Check before buying
Heybike Cityscape 2.0
For riders who want an easy bike to get on and off: seniors, shorter riders, and anyone doing errands in normal clothes. It is a step-through commuter from a better-known brand, with thin 26 inch tires and a mid-size battery. Skip it if you weigh more than the listed load limit or ride rough trails.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 500W motor, 1200W peak (listing)
- 36V 13Ah removable battery (468Wh). The listing calls the battery IPX6 waterproof
- Maker claims 30 to 35 miles on throttle, 35 to 50 on pedal assist
- Throttle and pedal assist. Top speed is not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026
- 61.73 lb, max load 264 lb, rider height 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 3 in (listing)
- Step-through frame, 26 x 1.95 inch tires, front suspension, 7 speeds, front and rear disc brakes (type not stated)
- Battery certification: the listing title says UL Certified and a bullet calls the battery UL-certified. It does not name the standard (UL 2849 or UL 2271). Ask the seller which one
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it is easy to assemble and rides smoothly. One says it handles the hills around their home, and one reports about 42 miles on a charge. Lights and controls get good marks.
- They complain about: Durability gets mixed reviews. The 42 mile report is one rider, so plan on less unless you pedal a lot on low assist.
Good
- Low step-through frame is easy to mount
- Thin tires roll easier than fat tires, so the battery goes farther per watt-hour
- Listing states a fit range and a load limit, which many budget listings skip
Watch out for
- Expect about 12 to 23 real-world miles, not 50
- The 264 lb limit covers rider plus cargo
- Top speed is not stated. The review summary mentions 22 MPH, so ask the seller how the throttle is limited if you need a strict 20 MPH bike
ANCHEER Sunshine (26 inch)
For riders who want a plain 20 MPH mountain-bike shape and want to see UL 2849 named in the listing. ANCHEER has sold e-bikes on Amazon for years. Skip it if you need range, because the battery is small, and read the owner gripes about durability first.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 500W brushless geared motor, up to 19.8 MPH on throttle or pedal assist (listing). That is Class 2
- 48V 7.8Ah removable battery (374Wh)
- Maker claims up to 55 miles on low pedal assist
- Item weight 65.6 lb in the spec table, max load 265 lb, rider height 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 3 in (listing)
- 26 x 2.1 inch tires, lockable front suspension fork, aluminum frame, 7 or 21 speeds, front and rear disc brakes (type not stated)
- Battery certification: the listing title says UL2849 Compliant. That is the maker's wording. Ask the seller for the certificate if your city requires one
- 1 year warranty on motor and battery (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the look, say most of it arrives assembled, and say the pedal assist kicks in right away.
- They complain about: Battery life and durability are mixed. Some report a battery that stopped charging within weeks, a bike that broke within a month, or brake problems from the start. Test everything inside the return window.
Good
- 20 MPH cap with throttle fits Class 2, the most widely accepted class
- UL 2849 is named in the listing title
- Normal bike shape fits most racks
Watch out for
- Small battery. Expect about 10 to 19 real-world miles
- Owner reports on durability and batteries are mixed
- The listing mentions a PX54 waterproof wiring line, which reads like an IP54 splash rating, not a rating for the whole bike
ANCHEER 14 inch Folding E-Bike
For people who must store the bike in a closet, a car trunk or an RV, and for shorter riders. It is a small 14 inch wheel folder capped at 20 MPH. Skip it if you are over about 5 ft 11 in, ride rough roads, or need more than a few miles each way.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 350W motor, 500W peak, 20 MPH top speed (listing)
- 48V 7.8Ah battery (374Wh)
- Maker claims 20 to 50 miles
- Listing bullets say 48.5 lb and 49.2 inches long. The spec table says 61.6 lb, which may include packaging
- Rider height 4 ft 7 in to 5 ft 11 in, max load 265 lb (listing)
- Folding frame, 14 inch wheels, front and rear suspension plus seat springs, disc brakes (type not stated)
- Battery certification: the listing title says UL2849 Compliant. That is the maker's wording. Ask the seller for the certificate if your city requires one
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it fun and comfortable. One reports a 17 mile round trip on a single charge.
- They complain about: Some find it less stable than they expected, which is common with 14 inch wheels. Battery reports are mixed, including some dead batteries.
Good
- Lightest and shortest bike on this list
- Only pick here with a listed fit range that starts under 5 ft
- 20 MPH cap keeps it inside Class 1 or 2 speed limits
Watch out for
- Expect about 10 to 19 real-world miles
- Small wheels feel twitchy and hit potholes hard. Some owners call it less stable than expected
- Folded size is not stated in the listing sections we checked. Ask the seller before you plan around a closet or RV bay
A note on budget e-bike brands
Models in this price range change often. If a link shows the bike as unavailable, the brand has usually replaced it with a newer version on the same store page. Before you buy any of them, read the 7 things to check.